Skip to the good stuff!


The Mark Samuels Lasner Fellowship in Printing History

The Mark Samuels Lasner Fellowship in Printing History is an annual award of up to $2,000 for research in any area of the history of printing in all its forms, including all the arts and technologies relevant to printing, the book arts, and letterforms. There are no geographical or chronological limitations on the subject: it may be national or regional in scope, biographical, analytical, technical, or bibliographical in nature. Printing history-related study with a recognized printer or book artist may also be supported. The fellowship can be used to pay for travel, living, and other expenses.

The 2023 recipient has been chosen. The 2024  application and sample budget form is now available:

Sample Budget

The fellowship, named for the first donor of the fellowship, was started in 2002. In January 2008 APHA named this program the “Mark Samuels Lasner Fellowship in Printing History” and designated the winners of the competition as “Mark Samuels Lasner Fellows.”

From 2003 to 2007, funding for the fellowship depended on an individual donor. To ensure the permanence of the Mark Samuels Lasner Fellowship in Printing History, APHA is actively engaged in raising an endowment. Our goal is a $50,000 endowment to provide a $2,000 annual award. To donate to the fund, download the APHA fellowship pledge form.

Each fellowship competition is announced in the autumn preceding the period of the award, and the recipient is announced at APHA’s annual meeting.

Fellowship Recipients

Year Recipient
2024 Nilkantha Pal
2023 Val Lucas
2022 Mian Chen
2021 Marina Garone Gravier
2020 Nadirah Mansour
2019 Wei Jin Darryl Lim
2018 Jordan Wingate
2017 Amanda Stuckey
2016 Hazel Wilkinson
2015 Huiying Chen
2014 L. Elizabeth Upper
2013 Corinna Zeltsman
2012 David Shields
2011 Gwido Zlatkes
2010 No Award
2009 Jacob W. Lewis
2008 Pablo Alvarez and Keli E. Rylance
2007 Renzo Baldasso
2006 Paul Shaw
2005 Lance Hidy
2004 Susanna Ashton
2003 John A. Lane